Thursday, May 8, 2014

Dharamvir, Raghunath, Tushar, Chetri recommended for 2014 Arjuna Awards

London Olympics hockey team captain Bharat Chetri, striker Dharamvir Singh, drag-flicker Vokkaliga Raghunath and forward Tushar Khandker have been recommended by Hockey India for the prestigious Arjuna Award for the year 2014.

Interestingly, two of the four recommended players - Bharat Chetri and Khandker are currently out of the national team. Both of them last featured in the national team at the 2012 London Olympics where they settle for a deeply disappointing wooden spoon finish.

Dharamvir has been a key member of the Indian forwardline – he was part of the silver-winning 2010 Commonwealth Games team as well as member of the bronze-winning 2010 Asiad besides representing the country at the 2012 London Olympics. Vokkaliga Raghunath has been a handy asset for India in the backline and was vice-captain of the national for  most part of 2013 before PR Sreejesh got the honours.

Former Indian women team’s captain and currently coach of the Indian senior women’s team Sumrai Tete has been recommended for the 2014 Dhyan Chand Lifetime Achievement Award, while Indian junior women team coach Romesh Pathania has been recommended for the 2014 Dronacharya Award.

(The writer can be contacted at: 
Post a Comment