Wednesday, March 19, 2014

National Women's 'B' Division: Assam hockey eves corner glory

Assam women’s hockey team sneaked past Himachal Pradesh 3-2 to win the 4th Hockey India Senior Women’s National ‘B’ Division Championship at the Aish Bagh Stadium in Bhopal.

Assam were in for a disappointment when Himachal Pradesh took the lead through Ravita Chauhan in the 4th minute, but they picked up the pieces and not only levelled the issue but also pulled ahead to go into half-time with a confident frame of mind. Dolly Yadav and Maully Yadav scored for Assam.

Trailing 1-2 at the break, Himachal Pradesh needed a strong start in the second half but all their plans were nullified when Assam captain Minni made the scoreline 3-1 in the 44th minute. Baljinder Rana kept Himachal in the contest reducing the margin  in the 59th minute and her side had eleven minutes to make a match of it, but Assam eves held firm to script glory.

Delhi defeated Tamil Nadu 2-0 to secure the 3rd position.

Post a Comment