Thursday, March 13, 2014

Hockey Gangpur-Odisha win men’s national ‘B’ divison crown, Chhattisgarh clinch women’s ‘B’ divison title

Debutants Hockey Gangpur-Odisha sneaked past Hockey Maharashtra 3-2 to win the 4th Hockey India Senior Men National ‘B’ Division Championship at the Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium in Lucknow.

The Odisha got into the goal-scoring act even before the spectators had settled down at the Stadium when William Xalxo opened the account in the first minute of play. Hockey Maharashtra came roaring back and levelled things through Vishal Pillay two minutes later.

Hockey Maharashtra grew in confidence as the match wore on and pulled ahead in the 29th minute through Vinit Kamble, but the fortunes kept fluctuating as the Odisha side evened things up at the stroke of half-time.

It was left to Ashish Anmol Minz to produce the match-clincher midday through the second half, which was enough for Hockey Gangpur-Odisha to lay their hands on the winning trophy. Mumbai Hockey Association Ltd took the third spot humbling Namdhari XI 3-1.

Meanwhile, Chhattisgarh crushed Hockey Kerala 6-1 to win 4th National Junior Women Hockey ‘B’ Division Championship at the Chamundi Vihar Stadium in Mysore. Hockey Gangpur-Odisha finished third pipping Manipur 2-0

Post a Comment