Thursday, July 3, 2014

Ritu Rani will lead Indian women’s team in Commonwealth Games

Seasoned Ritu Rani will lead the 16-member Indian women’s hockey team in the upcoming Commonwealth Games, which are scheduled to take place at Glasgow, Scotland from July 23 to August 3. Fullback Deepika will be the vice-captain of the side.

The team was selected by Hockey India selectors Mr. B P Govinda, Mr. Harbinder Singh, Ms. Surinder Kaur along with Director High Performance Mr. Roelant Oltmans, Chief Coach Mr. Neil Hawgood and Scientific Advisor Mr. Matthew Tredrea during the two-day selection trials conducted at NSNIS Patiala on June 28 and 29. The team will depart for Glasgow on July 9.

Goalkeepers: Savita; Defenders: Deep Grace Ekka, Deepika (vice-captain), Kirandeep Kaur, Namita Toppo, Jaspreet Kaur; Midfielders: Ritu Rani (captain), Sushila Chanu, Lilima Minz, Vandana Katariya, Navjot Kaur; Forwards: Rani,  Poonam Rani, Ritusha Arya, Anupa Barla and Anuradha

The writer can be contacted at:


No comments: