Friday, April 25, 2014

Indian junior men's hockey team hit the drills under newly-appointed coach Harendra Singh

The Indian junior men’s hockey team kickstarted its coaching camp at the Major Dhyan Chand National Stadium in New Delhi on Friday. The national colts will be utilizing the camp to set its preparations afoot for the 2016 Junior Hockey World Cup which will be held in India.

As many as 60 junior players have been picked for the camp and they will be training under the watchful eyes of newly-appointed head coach Harendra Singh. Out of the 60 identified players, 33 players will be selected on May 3 and 4, 2014 keeping an eye on the 2016 Junior World Cup.

The colts were picked by Hockey India Selectors Mr. B P Govinda, Mr. Arjun Halappa alongwith Director High Performance Mr. Roelant Oltmans, Mr. Haribinder Singh and Mr. Harendra Singh, Coach Junior Men Hockey Team on the basis of their performance in the 4th Hockey India Junior Men National Championship held at Chennai from 24 March- 6 April 2014 and 4th Hockey India Senior Men National Championship held at Lucknow from 27 February – 23 March 2014.

It may be recalled that the Indian colts had finished a highly disappointing 10th at the 2013 Junior World Cup held in New Delhi.

The squad: Goalkeepers: Pankaj Rajak (Hockey Jharkhand), Aamir Hasan (Hockey Bhopal), Jugraj Singh (Hockey Bhopal), Rattan Singh (Hockey Himachal Pradesh), Vikas Dahiya (Hockey Haryana), Subodh Tirkey (Hockey Odisha), Nelson Leisangthem (Mumbai Hockey Association), Abhinav Pandey (Uttar Pradesh Hockey); Defenders: Abhay Ekka (Hockey Jharkhand), Jarmanpreet Singh (Hockey Punjab), Navdeep Singh (Sports Authority of India), Harmanpreet Singh (Hockey Punjab),  Anand Lakra (Hockey Odisha), Owais Ahmed (Hockey Himachal Pradesh), Sanjit Toppo (Hockey Odisha), Nikhil Pardeshi (Mumbai Hockey Association), Meiraba Singh (Manipur Hockey),  A. P. Singh (Uttar Pradesh Hockey); Midfielders:  Manish Yadav (Sports Authority of India), Sumit (Hockey Haryana), Atuldeep (Uttar Pradesh Hockey), Varun Kumar (Hockey Punjab), Disan Tirkey (Hockey Odisha), Nilam Sanjeep Xess (Hockey Odisha), Santa Singh (Hockey Haryana), S. H. Nilakanta Sharma (Madhya Pradesh Hockey Academy), Pawan Sahani (Hockey Bhopal), Sunit Kumar (Hockey Maharashtra),  Naveen Tirkey (Hockey Chhattisgarh), Simranjeet Singh (Hockey Punjab), Harjeet Singh (Hockey Punjab), Baljit Singh (Hockey Punjab), Somaiah K. P. (Hockey Karnataka), Pruthviraj G. N. (Hockey Karnataka), Joseph Toppo (Hockey Odisha), Ajay Yadav (Sports Authority of India), Amandeep Singh (Hockey Himachal Pradesh), Prakash Barla (Hockey Odisha), Janma Majhi (Services Promotion Sports Board), W. Suras Singh (Steel Plant Sports Board).
Post a Comment