Monday, February 17, 2014

42 teams to feature in Senior National Men’s Hockey Championship

The newly-introduced two-phased Senior National Men’s Hockey Championship will kickstart at the Major Dhyan Chand Hockey Stadium in Lucknow from February 27 to March 23.

Organised by Hockey India, the 4th edition will get underway with the national ‘B’ division attracting as many as 22 teams, while the national ‘A’ division has pulled in 20 teams.The championship will be played on a league-cum-knockout basis.

Reigning champions Air India and last year’s runners-up Punjab will be keen to put up a good showing in the premier domestic tournament. Four new teams –Hockey Gangpur - Odisha, Vidarbha Hockey Association, Central Reserve Police Force and Food Corporation of India will feature in this year’s edition.

It may be worth mentioning that the national ‘A’ division will be played at the same venue from March 11 to 23. Hockey Gangpur- Odisha will face Puducherry in the lung opener of the national ‘B’ division. The final match of the national ‘B’ division will be played on March 13.

The senior men's nationals will be of crucial interest for the national hockey selectors as four big-ticket tournaments - World Cup, Commonwealth Games, Asian Games and Champions Trophy - will be held later this year.

The second Hero Hockey India League also must have given the selectors and coaches a fair idea about the pool of players they have at their disposal for the upcoming events.

Post a Comment