Thursday, August 14, 2014

Hockey India announces Rs 2 lakh cash award for Arjuna Award-ignored hockey players

Call it a raw deal? Well, you could add something more than.  Seven hockey players – Dharamvir Singh, V.R. Raghunath, Tushar Khandker, Bharat Chetri and Shivendra Singh (men) besides Joydeep Kaur (women) and Ritu Rani (women) – recommended by Hockey India for the covered Arjuna Award were not chosen by the Kapil Dev-led Arjuna Awards selection committee.

The development has left Hockey India hot under the collar. Hockey India secretary general Narinder Batra has slammed the Sports Authority of India (SAI) and the Sports Ministry for cold-shouldering the hockey players. Batra wondered how commentator Anupam Ghulati, who is a former employee of HI, can be part of the committee.
Hockey India feels sorry for the seven players and now decided to dole out a cash award of Rs 2 lakh each for all the seven players.

All the seven hockey players have served the country well one hopes that the development does not dent their morale ahead of their upcoming international competitions.
Post a Comment